Cool blog post about the Harry Potter librarian.

The Issues Desk

“When in doubt, go to the library.”

One of the more important pearls of wisdom Hermione imparts on Ron and Harry by Book 2. Hermione proceeds to rip a page out of a very old book and scribble on it. Cue gasps. (Basically, knowledge found in the library helps saves the day, hoorah!)

Actually, I don’t care too much about not taking perfect care of books. If there’s anything I’ve learnt from working at an academic library, it is that the collection will be used and abused, because there will always be another edition coming with updated information, or the course will be dropped and the relevant texts weeded out or…you get the idea.

book_spilling

Does this make me a bad librarian? I don’t think so. It just means I don’t fit that particular stereotype.

And you know what? I don’t think Madam Pince is what she’s made out to be…

View original post 604 more words